I Feel Pretty (movie review)

I Feel Pretty posterPoster from Google.com

Watching movies should make you feel something. Happy, sad, scared, in awe. Why else would you watch a movie, right? I went to see I Feel Pretty with my mom at the movie theater. Although I had never been a big Amy Schumer fan (I’m not really sure why), I thought the movie looked hilarious. I left the movie wanting to be her best friend. (Hello, Amy? Call me!)

The tagline in the movie poster is “Change everything without changing anything.” Another poster states “Attitude is everything.” This is definitely foreshadowing, yet I couldn’t begin to realize just how much the movie would affect me. Tonight I watched it again with my youngest daughter, Isabella. I wondered if I would feel as strongly about it as the first time. Well, here goes. The inner workings of my feelings.

I absolutely loved every single second of this movie. It was so funny. And heartwarming. And powerful. I felt so many things. I laughed and cried. I was even angry a couple of times. It was definitely hard to watch more than once. Ms. Schumer’s character, Renee Bennett makes a speech commenting (not a quote) that as little girls, everyone feels beautiful…no one cares if you are toned or have perfect hair. But then someone says something and everything shatters.

I remember the moment the illusion shattered for me. I was in kindergarten in Vincennes, Indiana. I was playing on the swings at recess and like everyone, wanted friends. This girl whose name I do not remember (pretty sure it’s a traumatic blockage, ha) in this perfect outfit came up. I was so envious. It was this little dress that split up the front with matching bloomers. It had watermelon pockets with buttons for seeds. I remember her being beautiful and all the little boys having a crush on her. And all the girls wanting to be her best friend. She asked my name and I told her. Kristin Brown. She looked at me and said, “it should be Kristin Poo-Poo and Pee-Pee.” I was crushed. And embarrassed. I never forgot (obviously). That was when I realized I wasn’t perfect. But instead of realizing I just wasn’t good enough (in her mind) to be her friend, that didn’t mean I wasn’t good enough for everything or anyone else. But, that’s a tale for another day.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve felt confident from time to time in my life. Not quite the bikini contest confidence that Renee has in the movie…but, I’ve felt smart. Or capable. Like I could take on the world. Then something would happen and I’d feel shot down again. Why do we do that to ourselves? Compare our lives or achievements to others. I envy people who ooze the confidence of someone who knows they are capable and have the world by the tail.

Yet, even in the movie, two characters that appear to have everything going for them,  Avery LeClaire (the impeccable Michelle Williams) and Mallory (the stunning Emily Ratajkowski) have self-esteem and confidence issues. Sure Mallory is beautiful, but she has this self-deprecating nature about herself and hates that people assume she is stupid because of physical qualities. And Avery, the CEO of Lilly LeClaire feels she can’t be taken seriously because of her voice, despite being intelligent and driven.

Perhaps even the most self-assured women have times of feeling insecure. I wish everyone could have the epiphany that Renee has at the end that it isn’t what’s on the outside, but if you believe in yourself…you can change everything.

I think this movie (that didn’t do as well as expected at the theater) was terrific. Heartfelt. Funny. And inspiring. While I may never be the face of a fashion company, I’m hoping that this site can be the inspiration for someone else. Always chase your dreams. Never let anyone make you doubt yourself. And if you get the chance…watch I Feel Pretty.

Oh, and both of my daughters ended up with outfits that had watermelon pockets with matching bottoms.

 

6 comments

  1. I went to school with you for years and was lucky enough to to prom with you our jr. year in high school. And for what it’s worth I always thought you were strong talented and beautiful…. I agree that there is way too much pressure on young people to be beautiful and fit in… my motto has always been be yourself and screw ‘em if they don’t like it…

  2. I went to this show just to spend time with my much loved daughter. I left being so glad I saw it. I was not an Amy Schumer fan but thought it had possibilities. And did I mention I was spending time with my daughter? The movie was amazing and language wasn’t bad at all. In fact, I think I will watch it again this week.
    Another interesting column, Kristin. You really are a very talented writer.
    Oh and for me, it was after my parents and I were hit by a drunk driver that hurt us all and demolished our car. We didn’t have another one for awhile and one of my so called friends told everyone it was because we couldn’t afford to buy another one. I was so embarrassed. The scar on my heart was worse than the one I still have on my forehead from the wreck almost 50’years later.

  3. Great Insight! I am going to have to watch this movie now. One of my favorite life sayings is: “Who cares what they think? The only person that matters is what God thinks! “

Leave a comment